"Which flashlight should I actually buy?" comes across the front desk about once a week, usually from a guy who just hunted a dropped toy under a car seat by phone light. Here is the answer I give in person, sorted by job instead of by brand.
Two things up front, because I run this site the way I run the gym.
I have not tested any of these ten lights. Not one, no brand excepted. Every page linked below is a Recon Report, which on this site means unrated, hands-on review pending, written off the published listing. That includes the Olights. This is a buying guide built on published specs and my criteria for picking one. Every figure below is a manufacturer claim until I measure it.
All three brands pay this site the same rate. Olight pays 10 percent through impact.com. The NITECORE Store pays 10 percent through Awin. Fenix, which I link through Longhorn Tactical, pays 10 percent through Awin. Same money whichever one you buy, so the order below cannot be bought.
How I Read A Spec Sheet
1. Max lumens is a peak, not an output. Turbo is what a light does for a moment before heat pulls it back down. Olight at least publishes the step-down: the Baton 4 is listed as 1,300 stepping to 600 to 300. The NITECORE EDC23 advertises 2,500 lumens and never states a Turbo runtime at all. Its brightest mode with a runtime behind it is a listed 1,100 lumens for 1 hour 30 minutes. That is the number to buy on.
2. The headline runtime is quoted at the dimmest setting. The NU25 MCT UL advertises 45 hours, and that figure is at 6 lumens. Same move on the Warrior 3S at up to 55 days on its lowest setting and the Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 at over 600 hours claimed. None of those is the mode you find a breaker panel with.
3. The X in IPX means dust was never tested. IPX7 and IPX8 leave the dust digit blank, which is what the Arkfeld Pro, the Baton 4 and the Warrior 3S carry. The Fenix PD36R Pro and the HM65R-T are rated IP68, both halves tested. IP54 on the EDC23 and the TINI 3 is splash level, and NITECORE itself words the TINI 3 as water repellent. IP66 on the Fenix E03R V2.0 is water jet resistance, not submersion. A truck bed is a dust problem first.
4. A missing spec is a finding. The EDC23 and the TINI 3 state no battery and no warranty. The Oclip publishes no runtimes and no water rating, so for $29.99 you cannot tell whether 300 lumens lasts twenty minutes or two hours. Olight does not say what the Warrior 3S weighs, and no Fenix page here states a warranty length. Publishing a full runtime ladder is a choice. Publishing one big number and a lot of adjectives is also a choice.
Bias declared: three combat tours in the Marine Corps on a SIGINT support team, so I weight red light and lockout switches heavier than most reviewers do.
The Table
| Light | Brand | Price | Max output (claimed) | Weight | Water rating | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fenix E03R V2.0 | Fenix | $29.95 | 500 lm | 1.06 oz | IP66 | Keychain with a red mode |
| Olight Oclip | Olight | $29.99 | 300 lm white, 4 lm red | 1.06 oz | Not stated | Clip on a brim or a visor |
| NITECORE NU25 MCT UL | NITECORE | $36.95 | 400 lm | 1.66 oz | IP66 | Ultralight headlamp |
| NITECORE TINI 3 | NITECORE | $39.95 | 600 lm | 0.71 oz | IP54 | Lightest keychain |
| Olight Baton 4 | Olight | $54.99 | 1,300 lm | 1.85 oz | IPX8 | Pocket, every day |
| NITECORE EDC23 | NITECORE | $74.95 | 2,500 lm, no Turbo runtime stated | 3.56 oz | IP54 | Flat pocket carry with a screen |
| Olight Arkfeld Pro | Olight | $89.99 | 1,300 lm plus 365nm UV and green laser | 3.92 oz | IPX7 | Inspection work |
| Fenix HM65R-T V2.0 | Fenix | $104.95 | 1,600 lm | 4.94 oz | IP68 | Headlamp for real work |
| Olight Warrior 3S | Olight | $119.95 | 2,300 lm | Not stated | IPX8 | Duty, tail switch |
| Fenix PD36R Pro | Fenix | $119.95 | 2,800 lm | 5.96 oz | IP68 | Duty and truck |
Read the last two rows together. Same $119.95, and only one of them tells you what it weighs. Both Fenix pages over $100 also show a backorder notice against the store's own in-stock data.
Job 1: The Keychain Light That Is Always On You
What would change my mind: weight. The TINI 3 is listed at 0.71 oz against 1.06 for a light that rides on a ring all day, and it adds three color temperatures, an OLED readout and both a semi and a full lockout for $39.95. It pays for that with IP54, a Turbo listed at about 30 minutes, and a blank where the battery spec goes.
Job 2: The Pocket Light You Carry Every Day
What would change my mind: the cable and the missing middle. It charges on Olight's MCC 1A magnetic cord, one more proprietary cable in a house that already eats them, and Olight publishes no runtimes at all below Turbo. The EDC23 answers that, a listed 1,100 lumens for 1 hour 30 minutes and 65 lumens for 11 hours, but it costs about $20 more, weighs nearly twice as much at 3.56 oz, and drops to IP54. The Arkfeld Pro makes the same 1,300 lumen claim at 3.92 oz, more than twice the weight, and the $35 gap over the Baton 4 buys a UV emitter and a green laser.
Job 3: The Truck Light And The Property Line
What would change my mind: a lockout. The listing mentions none, and a dual tail switch light riding loose in a console is how you find a dead battery the night you need it. The Warrior 3S costs the same, with a 1.5 m drop test rating against the Fenix 1 m impact rating, and a two-stage tail switch with direct turbo. But Olight states no weight, no candela, and nothing between max output and 55 days on the lowest setting, so I cannot line it up on paper.
Job 4: The Headlamp For Hands-Free Work
What would change my mind: the battery and the weather. The 700mAh cell is built in, so swapping it is not a user job, and IP66 is water jet resistance. The HM65R-T V2.0 at $104.95 lists a named ARB-L18-3400 cell rather than a sealed one, is rated IP68, and Fenix rates it at 1,600 lumens for 3 hours in a 4.94 oz magnesium body. That is the crawlspace light, at nearly three times the price.
What I Test When These Land
Same protocol for all ten, on the clock. Output at 30 seconds, 2 minutes and 10 minutes, because step-down is where claimed lumens go to die. Runtime at the setting normal people use instead of Turbo. Lockout in a loaded gym bag for a week. Thirty days of carry in jeans and gym shorts, which decides what I keep. Water, because IP54 against IP68 deserves a hose and not a sentence.
I am also asking all three brands in writing for the warranty lengths and battery specs their pages leave out, and I will publish what comes back, including a refusal. Ratings go up when that work is done and not before.
Buy links live on the product pages, not in this guide. None of these ten lights was provided free, and none has been tested yet.







