Outdoor Gear

NITECORE NU25 MCT UL 400 Lumen USB-C Rechargeable Multi-Temperature Ultralight Headlamp

NITECORE lists 400 lumens and three color temperatures in a 1.66 oz headlamp, but the 45 hour runtime number is at 6 lumens.

Every Dad Carry is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

$36.95
Mike ManningBy Mike Manning
Marine veteran, gym owner, dad
Recon Report: full review pendingPhotos: NITECOREUpdated 2026-09-14
More from NITECORE
NITECORE NU25 MCT UL 400 Lumen USB-C Rechargeable Multi-Temperature Ultralight Headlamp

Quick Specs

Price$36.95
CategoryOutdoor Gear
BrandNITECORE Store
ReviewedSep 14, 2026
Price$36.95
Max output400 lumens claimed, dual-core MCT UHE LEDs
Beam distance144 yards claimed, 4351 cd peak intensity
Color temperatures3000K warm, 4500K neutral, 6500K cool
RuntimesRated High 400 lm / 2 hrs 40 mins, Mid 200 lm / 5 hrs, Low 60 lm / 13 hrs, Ultralow 6 lm / 45 hrs
Red lightRated High 15 lm / 10 hrs, Low 5 lm / 26 hrs, slow flash 15 lm
Special modesSOS and Beacon, listed at 400 lumens
Battery700mAh rechargeable, built in
ChargingUSB-C, NITECORE says slightly over 1 hour
Size and weightL-2.36 x W-1.30 x H-1.01 in; 1.66 oz on the spec table, 1.65 oz in the marketing copy
WaterIP66 claimed, which is water jet resistance, not submersion
ImpactRated to 1 meter by NITECORE
HeadbandListed as easily adjustable elastic cords; width, material and washability not stated
ColorsBlack or Yellow, same price
In the boxHeadlamp, USB-C to USB-C cable, bracket, headband, diffusing stuff sack
WarrantyNot stated on the product page
How I got itNot in hand yet. Overview from the published product page; hands-on review pending

What I Like

  • NITECORE rates it at 400 lumens with a 144 yard throw while the spec table lists the whole headlamp at 1.66 oz, which is ultralight pack territory on paper.
  • Three color temperatures in one housing, 3000K warm, 4500K neutral and 6500K cool, with up to four brightness levels in whichever one you pick, per the listing.
  • Three red modes are listed, including 5 lumens rated for 26 hours, so a low red option is on the dial and not buried behind a mode you have to hunt for.
  • USB-C in with a USB-C to USB-C cable in the box, no proprietary plug, and NITECORE says the 700mAh cell refills in slightly over an hour.

What I Don't

  • The listing calls IP66 waterproof. IP66 is high pressure water jet resistance, not submersion, so rain is covered and a creek is not.
  • The 45 hour runtime headline is at Ultralow, which is 6 lumens. Rated working light is 400 lumens for 2 hours 40 minutes or 200 lumens for 5 hours.
  • The 700mAh battery is built in, and the page says nothing about replaceability, cycle life, or a warranty period.
  • Charge time is published only as slightly over an hour, with no exact figure and no input wattage stated.
  • A bracket and a headband are listed in the box, but the page never states band width, material, or whether it washes, which matters on a thing you wear on your head.

Flag up front: this is a recon report, not a review. I have never had a NU25 MCT UL on my head. What follows is a read of the numbers NITECORE publishes on the product page, sorted into what a dad needs to know. The verdict comes after I have one in hand.

The Spec Read

NITECORE rates the NU25 MCT UL at 400 lumens out of dual-core MCT UHE LEDs, with a claimed 144 yard throw and 4351 candela of peak intensity. The spec table puts the whole thing at 1.66 oz, and the marketing copy on the same page says 1.65 oz. Take the heavier number. Footprint is listed at 2.36 by 1.30 by 1.01 inches.

The part that separates it from the cheaper NITECORE lights is not the lumen count, it is the MCT part. Three color temperatures, 3000K warm, 4500K neutral, 6500K cool, and the listing says you get up to four brightness levels in whichever one you choose. On top of that sit three red modes plus SOS and Beacon, both special modes listed at 400 lumens. NITECORE also lists a power indicator and a lockout mode. Power is a 700mAh cell charged over USB-C, which NITECORE describes only as slightly over an hour. IP66 and the 1 meter impact rating are claims off the page, not test results. In the box: the headlamp, a USB-C to USB-C cable, a bracket, a headband NITECORE describes as easily adjustable elastic cords, and a diffusing stuff sack.

Who It Is For

On paper this is a camp and trail light, which is why I filed it under camping instead of pocket carry. The 1.66 oz spec weight, the ultralight name, and the diffusing stuff sack all point at backpacking and camp use rather than a pocket. Warm 3000K at a low level is the option you would reach for inside a tent, and the red mode rated at 5 lumens for 26 hours is the middle of the night setting by the numbers. Whether any of that holds up on a head in the dark is the part I cannot tell you yet.

If you want a pocket light instead of a head light, that conversation starts with the Olight Baton 4 and the flashlight slot in my best EDC for dads guide.

The Honest Math

The 45 hour number in the headline is at Ultralow, which is 6 lumens. The rated output that actually lights a work area looks different: 400 lumens for 2 hours 40 minutes, 200 for 5 hours, 60 for 13. Run it at full brightness for a dark morning dog walk or a truck side repair and you are on a sub three hour clock by NITECORE's own numbers.

Two things the page does not settle. IP66 is written up as waterproof, and it is not. IP66 is high pressure water jet resistance, so rain and a hose are fine, dropping it in a creek is not. And the 700mAh cell is sealed in with no word on replaceability, cycle life, or a warranty period, which on a built in battery light is the entire lifespan question. Charge time gets the same treatment: slightly over an hour, no exact figure, no input wattage.

At $36.95 it sits above the NITECORE HA23 UHE at $29.95 and the HA13 at $28.95, so that $7 has to earn itself on the spec weight and the three color temperatures. One more thing to check before you order: the product page renders a backordered notice while the store's own variant data reports both Black and Yellow available.

Get it at NITECORE Store

Every Dad Carry earns an affiliate commission on purchases made through NITECORE Store links, at no extra cost to you. No sample was provided, I have not handled this headlamp, and this overview was published ahead of hands-on testing.

After Action Report

On paper the NU25 MCT UL earns its $36.95 on two things: 1.66 oz on the spec table and three color temperatures in one housing. The runtime headline is soft and the sealed battery question is unanswered on the page. Verdict waits until I have one on my head in the dark.

Mike Manning

MIKE MANNING

Founder, Every Dad Carry

Dad | Coach | Marine Corps Veteran

Ready to buy?

NITECORE NU25 MCT UL 400 Lumen USB-C Rechargeable Multi-Temperature Ultralight Headlamp: $36.95

Related Gear