Everyday Carry

Fenix PD36R Pro 2800 Lumen Rechargeable Tactical Flashlight

Fenix rates it at 2800 lumens and 415 yards of throw off 36,600 candela, in a 5.96 oz light the spec sheet puts on a belt, not in your jeans.

Every Dad Carry is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

$119.95
Mike ManningBy Mike Manning
Marine veteran, gym owner, dad
Recon Report: full review pendingPhotos: FenixUpdated 2026-09-14
More from Fenix
Fenix PD36R Pro 2800 Lumen Rechargeable Tactical Flashlight

Quick Specs

Price$119.95
CategoryEveryday Carry
BrandLonghorn Tactical
ReviewedSep 14, 2026
Price$119.95, no compare at price shown on the listing
LEDLuminus SFT70, per the listing
Max output2800 lumens Turbo, rated 3 hr 30 min ANSI style
Other modesHigh 1000 lm / 3 hr 55 min, Mid 350 lm / 8 hr 15 min, Low 150 lm / 19 hr, Eco 30 lm / 42 hr, as published
Strobe2500 lumens, no runtime stated
Beam415 yards peak beam distance, 36,600 cd peak beam intensity, as rated by Fenix
BatteryFenix ARB-L21 5000mAh 21700, listed as included
ChargingUSB Type-C with what Fenix calls inner waterproof treatment; charge time not stated
DurabilityIP68, dustproof, submersible to 30 minutes, 1 m impact resistance, all as rated by Fenix
Size and weight5.74 in x 1.04 in x 1.01 in, 5.96 oz
SwitchDual tactical tail switch with instant activation and strobe; no lockout mode mentioned
WarrantyNot stated on the product page. Fenix claims are handled by the manufacturer, not by Longhorn
AvailabilityUnverified. The page shows a backorder notice while the store's own product data reports it in stock
How I got itNot in hand yet. Recon from the published product page; hands-on review pending

What I Like

  • The listing names the emitter, a Luminus SFT70, and publishes peak beam intensity at 36,600 candela. Candela is the number that predicts reach, and most listings never print it.
  • Fenix lists the ARB-L21 5000mAh 21700 cell as included at $119.95, so there is no second purchase before the light works.
  • The published mode table is complete, all five modes with output and runtime, down to a rated 30 lumens for 42 hours. Untested here, but at least stated.
  • Fenix rates the body IP68, dustproof, submersible to 30 minutes, and good for a 1 meter impact. Those are the manufacturer's ratings, not my results.

What I Don't

  • At a listed 5.96 oz and 5.74 inches, this is a duty belt light on paper, not a jeans pocket light.
  • Longhorn does not handle Fenix warranty claims. The page says those go directly to the manufacturer, and it never states a warranty length.
  • The 3 hr 30 min Turbo runtime is an ANSI style figure that includes thermal step down, and the page never says how long 2800 lumens actually holds.
  • Proprietary Fenix 21700 cell with no replacement price listed, no charge time stated, and no word on whether CR123A or 18650 will run in a pinch.
  • The page describes a dual tail switch with instant strobe but says nothing about a lockout mode, which is the first question for a light that rides in a bag.
  • Availability is unverified. The page shows a backorder notice while the store's own product data reports it in stock.

Housekeeping first. This is a recon report, not a review. I have never had a PD36R Pro in my hand, and nothing below is a test result. It is a read of the Longhorn Tactical product page, and where a number comes from Fenix I say so. The review comes after I have carried one and can tell you what it does in the dark.

The Spec Read

The headline numbers are Fenix's: 2800 lumens off a Luminus SFT70 emitter, 415 yards of beam distance, 36,600 candela of peak beam intensity. Candela is the number that actually predicts reach, and the fact that it is printed at all puts this listing ahead of most.

The mode table is complete, which is rare. Turbo 2800 lumens for 3 hr 30 min. High 1000 for 3 hr 55 min. Mid 350 for 8 hr 15 min. Low 150 for 19 hours. Eco 30 lumens for 42 hours. Strobe is listed at 2500 lumens with no runtime at all.

Read that Turbo line again. 2800 lumens and three and a half hours cannot both be true at the same time. That is an ANSI style runtime that includes thermal step down, and the page never says how long the light holds full output before it drops. Every hot light steps down. The problem is that this page does not tell you where the cliff is.

The rest of the build, as Fenix states it: a slim one inch aluminum body, 5.74 inches long, 5.96 ounces, dustproof and IP68 rated, submersible to 30 minutes, rated to a 1 meter impact. Charging is USB Type-C with what Fenix calls inner waterproof treatment, and the ARB-L21 5000mAh 21700 cell is listed as included. There is no charge time printed anywhere, which on a 5000mAh cell is a number you would want before you buy.

Who It Is For

This is the veteran half of the audience, not the pocket half. A listed 5.96 ounces and 5.74 inches is belt, truck door, and range bag territory, and anyone telling you that disappears in jeans all day is selling. If you want the pocket end of the lineup, that is a different class of light entirely. The Olight Baton 4 is the one I have flagged for that slot, and it is also still waiting on a hands-on here. For where a light fits in a daily kit at all, start with the best EDC for dads guide.

One question the listing does not answer: lockout. A dual tail switch with instant strobe makes sense on a duty belt. It makes me a lot less comfortable riding loose in a bag with 2800 lumens pointed at your leg, and the page says nothing either way.

What The Page Does Not Say

$119.95, with no compare at price shown, so there is no evidence of a discount against buying direct. Check fenix-store.com before you call this one a deal.

Warranty is the merchant gap. Longhorn states that Fenix requests are handled directly by the manufacturer, so buying here does not get you a retailer backed warranty path, and the product page never states a warranty length.

The battery is the other gap. The page lists no replacement cost for the ARB-L21, no charge time, and no word on whether CR123A or 18650 will run in a pinch. For a light you are buying as a duty tool, resupply is a fair question.

One more thing to confirm before you pay: availability. The page shows a backorder notice while the store's own product data reports it in stock. I could not resolve that from the outside.

Get it at Longhorn Tactical

Every Dad Carry may earn a commission on purchases made through the Longhorn Tactical link on this page, at no extra cost to you. The affiliate network for this merchant is not confirmed yet. This overview was published ahead of hands-on testing: I have not handled this light, and nothing above is a test result.

After Action Report

On paper this is the strongest spec sheet in the bracket: a named SFT70 emitter, a full five mode table, published candela, and the 21700 cell in the price at $119.95. What the page will not tell you is how long Turbo holds 2800 lumens, what a spare cell costs, or whether the light locks out in a bag. Fenix warranty claims do not route through Longhorn either. The spec sheet earns a look. The verdict waits until I have one in hand.

Mike Manning

MIKE MANNING

Founder, Every Dad Carry

Dad | Coach | Marine Corps Veteran

Ready to buy?

Fenix PD36R Pro 2800 Lumen Rechargeable Tactical Flashlight: $119.95

Related Gear